City Council Formalizes Committee Assignments

January 24, 2022
On Thursday, the New York City Council formalized committee assignments for its current term. Most important for GNYHA members, the Committee on Hospitals will be chaired by Mercedes Narcisse (D-Brooklyn), and the Committee on Health will be chaired by Lynn Schulman (D-Queens). The Council also created the new Subcommittee on COVID Recovery and Resiliency, which will be chaired by Council Member Francisco Moya (D-Queens), to examine the work done by hospitals and others to recover from the pandemic. The membership of each committee is detailed below, and a full list of committee assignments is available here.

Committee on Hospitals

  • Mercedes Narcisse, Chair (D-Brooklyn)
  • Charles Barron (D-Brooklyn)
  • Selvena Brooks-Powers (D-Queens)
  • Jennifer Gutiérrez (D-Brooklyn)
  • Rita Joseph (D-Brooklyn)
  • Francisco Moya (D-Queens)
  • Carlina Rivera (D-Manhattan)

Committee on Health

  • Lynn Schulman, Chair (D-Queens)
  • Joann Ariola (D-Queens)
  • Charles Barron (D-Brooklyn)
  • Oswald Feliz (D-Bronx)
  • Crystal Hudson (D-Brooklyn)
  • Mercedes Narcisse (D-Brooklyn)
  • Marjorie Velázquez (D-Bronx)
  • Kalman Yeger (D-Brooklyn)

Subcommittee on COVID Recovery and Resiliency

  • Francisco Moya, Chair (D-Queens)
  • Diana Ayala (D-Manhattan/Bronx)
  • Justin Brannan (D-Brooklyn)
  • Gale Brewer (D-Manhattan)
  • Selvena Brooks-Powers (D-Queens)
  • Mercedes Narcisse (D-Brooklyn)
  • Carlina Rivera (D-Manhattan)