HRO Learning Session Focuses on Creating Highly Reliable Processes

March 18, 2019

The GNYHA/United Hospital Fund (UHF) High Reliability Organization (HRO) Leadership Forum recently hosted its third learning session. The HRO Leadership Forum supports member hospitals and health systems in their efforts to become HROs through education, hands-on exercises, and group discussions on implementing high reliability principles and practices into their daily efforts.

The session focused on using performance improvement and variation reduction to create highly reliable processes. Hospital teams were challenged to evaluate their own organization’s performance improvement methodology, assess leadership involvement, and identify strengths or opportunities. The exercises also helped hospital teams strategize for their HRO-oriented service line initiatives.

Erin Dupree, MD, FACOG, formerly the Chief Medical Officer and Vice President for The Joint Commission’s Center for Transforming Healthcare, is the lead faculty guiding senior leaders from the nine participating member hospitals on their HRO journey. The hospitals of One Brooklyn Health—Brookdale University Hospital Medical Center, Interfaith Medical Center, and Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center—are participating as part of their efforts to become a sustainable, quality-oriented integrated health system. Other participants include Medisys Health System’s Jamaica Hospital Medical Center and Flushing Hospital Medical Center, Richmond University Medical Center, Blythedale Children’s Hospital, SBH Health System, and NYC Health + Hospitals/North Central Bronx.

The next HRO learning session will feature Memorial Hermann Health System Executive Vice President and System Chief Clinical Officer Michael Shabot, MD, FACS, FCCM, FACMI. Memorial Hermann Health System has been a national leader in high reliability and Dr. Shabot has been integral to the System’s HRO journey since 2007. His leadership has earned Memorial Hermann multiple awards, including the 2013 John M. Eisenberg Award for Patient Safety and Quality at the national level and the 2016 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award.